Getting my feet wet(and dirty) IN THE FIELD

Standard
In the field.

In the field.

Lahat ng mga kaibigan at pamilya ko! (All my friends and family!)

HELLO PO, (sir or maam).

I AM IN THE FIELD. WOOOT. I’m so happy and can’t believe that it is all happening already. We left Wednesday very early in the morning from the Manila MTC to travel to the mission home and meet our new companions. Driving to our mission and just passing all the rice fields and the little bahays, (home), on the side of the road I started to think of all the people living here. How humbly they live. When we went tracting in Manila so many of the families we saw had so very little. These people are so happy though. And so so friendly too. Anyway. Eventually we got to Olangapo and President and Sister Dahle picked us up which was nice because at least we knew their faces and Sister Dahle gave us each a nice big hug. Then we went to the mission home and had a short orientation and President interviewed each of us. He really took the time to get to know each of us and to understand where we are at with everything. I felt prompted to be very honest with him in my experiences and to open up to him with any concerns I might have. If any of you have the opportunity to talk to your Bishop or you feel like you should go to him, definitely do because they know best how to help you.

After that we had an awesome BIG lunch and then we all went around introducing ourselves. As the sister behind me stood up I felt the Spirit speak directly and forcefully into my mind, “She is your companion.” But I felt unsure because before the meeting we had been talking and i just thought I would really love it if this sister was my trainer so I just didn’t think I would get that lucky. Well I am not just lucky, I am seriously so blessed. Haha.

Ok but really my new Nanay,(mom) is the best(that’s what they call your trainer here). Her name is Sister Empalmado or Sister Emps. I really do love her. She is very energetic, excited to be a missionary even though this is her last transfer and she is so, so positive. I know she really cares for me and every time she listens to me I just know she really cares. I’m so grateful to work with her and to learn. I was a little worried I would have a hard companion but the two other Sisters in our house are the best kind of sister missionaries around. They are both Sister Training Leaders and I can tell why because they are both humble and hardworking. Oh btw Sister Pilimai and I are still together and living in the same house. It’s been great because she still tells just as many funny stories.

So about my new area. The town is called Liozon and the area is Iba zone it is in the north part of the mission. We went tracting the second day here as we got home late the day we got to our house. We have a few investigators but we work quite a lot with less actives as well. One experience from this week was with a young girl named Cherelyn who is about 15 and was baptized about 3 months ago but is now less active. We went to her house and at first she didn’t want to be taught I think she was just being shy. But we went in anyway to teach her a quick lesson anyway and to just bear simple testimony. She told us that lately she is been having a lot of problems but even though Sis Emps asked her a few times what was going on she wouldn’t tell us. We shared a scripture out of the Book of Mormon i think it is in Mosiah 27 and it is one of my favorite scriptures about how the people are bearing their afflictions and eventually the Lord sees fit to strenghthen them to bear their burdens and He lifts them too. I told her that I knew Heavenly Father would do this for her if she would pray to him and I started to tear up because in that moment I just loved her so much and I felt like maybe I cared and knew something more than she did because she was just having a hard time reaching out to God right now. It was a good lesson though and we will go back soon to teach her again and I know the Spirit will direct us again.

Anyway, that’s my story for this week. We went to church yesterday and it was pretty interesting. I don’t understand very much Tagalog but the spirits of people here are very strong and they all have amazing faith. I love it here and time is already going so fast. Love you and miss all of you. Thanks for your notes to me I appreciate all of you.

Love,

Sister McLean

P1010075

In the field.

Manila temple.

Manila temple.

Manila temple.

Manila temple.

Manila temple with Sister  Pilimai.

Manila temple with Sister Pilimai.

Manila

Manila MTC

Last Sunday in Provo MTC.

Last Sunday in Provo MTC.

Last Sunday in Provo MTC.

Last Sunday in Provo MTC.

Manila

Manila

Metro Manila

Metro Manila

2 thoughts on “Getting my feet wet(and dirty) IN THE FIELD

Leave a Reply

